April 27, 2017

March 2017 Reads


March
12 Right Behind You Lisa Gardner
13 Midnight Sun Jo Nesbo
14 Lincoln in the Bardo George Saunders
15 August Snow Stephen Mack Jones
16 The Gap of Time Jeanette Winterson



Only 5 books in March!  They were all great, so read them all!  I'm bossy, I know.

Right Behind You is a family drama and police procedure rolled into one suspenseful ride.  Gardner's writing is tight and keeps you interested until the end.

I love Jo Nesbo.  I read many Scandinavian authors and he's a favorite.  I can't say it better that this quick review:  "Readers who like their crime fiction cut-to-the-bone lean will love the opening pages of Jo Nesbø's new, swift-moving existential thriller Midnight Sun . . . A compelling exploration of love, faith, the meaning of life and redemption." --Richmond Times-Dispatch

So many readers were raving about Lincoln in the Bardo; I decided to see what all the fuss was about.  The fuss was about great writing.  Here's another quote: “A brilliant, Buddhist reimagining of an American story of great loss and great love . . . Saunders has written an unsentimental novel of Shakespearean proportions, gorgeously stuffed with tragic characters, bawdy humor, terrifying visions, throat-catching tenderness, and a galloping narrative, all twined around the luminous cord connecting a father and son and backlit by a nation engulfed in fire.”—Elle

You know that I love debut authors.  It's difficult to get published these days; so I want to see what they've got.  August Snow is Jones' first novel, and it's a humdinger! "[A] witty, mayhem-packed first novel . . . Snow’s own voice has echoes of Raymond Chandler’s. Be assured that when the showdown comes, Snow—an action-hero with the heart of a mensch—and his crew prove up to that task."
—The Wall Street Journal

Last but not least, The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson is a retelling of Shakespeare's' Winters Tale.  I admit that I haven't read Shakespeare, but The Gap of Time made the story very accessible. "The Gap of Time takes the play’s themes of love, jealousy, and estrangement and spins them into a taut contemporary tale."--New York Times
What are you reading?

March 13, 2017

February 2017 Reads



Feb 6 Go-Between Lisa Brackmann
7 Orphan X Gregg Hurwitz
8 The Prisoner Alex Berenson
9 Salt Houses Hala Alyan
10 Lola Melissa Scrivner Love
11 No Easy Target Iris Johansen

I'm going to quote a review, about Go-Between, I can't say it better! "Terrific...This might be the best “drug” book since Robert Stone’s brilliant Dog Soldiers or Don Winslow’s superb “Cartel” series. Brackmann’s mastery of the material rivals either of those and Go-Between establishes her as a force to be reckoned within the crime genre." —Providence Journal

OK, another quote, “This isn't simply Hurwitz's 'best thriller yet' or 'a terrific new thriller'-Orphan X is an order-of-magnitude leap into stardom. It's the most exciting thriller I've read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak, and the deadly, secret world of the Orphan Program. A new thriller superstar is born!” —Robert Crais  I mostly agree with this quote, except the Jack Reacher part; I got so bored with Lee Childs' character I have to pass on any comparison.

I love John Wells.  The Prisoner by Alex Berenson is the latest Wells installment.  Berenson never lets Wells get stale. “The John Wells series never gets old ... Berenson is a marvel, purely and simply."— Bookreporter.com  I don't mind using quotes from others and this one is spot on.  If you haven't read Berenson, start with The Faithful Spy, and you'll fall in love, too.

Salt Houses will probably be one of my favorite books this year.  Hala Alyan's debut novel is lyrical.  It's the story of the women of a Muslim family thru the upheavals of the Six-Day War of 1967 and Saddam Hussein’s invasion of Kuwait in 1990, and their day to day life in between.  The story and the writing are fabulous.  It'll be published on May 2, 2017.

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love marks the debut of a hugely exciting new thriller writer, and of a singular, magnificent character unlike anyone else in fiction. It's an astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman who combines the genius and ferocity of Lisbeth Salander with the ruthless ambition of Walter White.  Love takes plenty of geographical liberties, but this is fiction and unless you're a local you wouldn't know.  Great read.

No Easy Target is a fast-paced thriller and a good read.

What are you reading?

January 2017 Reads


Get it?  Loves Books and Tea!


Jan 1 The Second Girl David Swinson
2 The Original Ginny Moon Benjamin Ludwig
3 Blessed Are Those Who Thirst Anne Holt
4 Behind Her Eyes Sarah Pinborough
5 The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto Mitch Albom

Better late than never!  January was a great month for reading.  Not a turkey in the batch.

I loved The Second Girl by Swinson.  Who wouldn't love a retired detective with a taste for the forbidden? "Like Dennis Lehane and Richard Price, David Swinson gives us a gritty urban crime novel populated with morally complex, utterly believable characters. Swinson knows how to build suspense, and he has a great ear for the patois of the streets, but it is detective Frank Marr's tightrope walk between his noble and darker impulses that makes The Second Girl such a rewarding read from start to finish."—Ron Rash

One of my reading vices is Scandinavian crime novels.  Anne Holt is a master; if you haven't read her I really recommend her writing.  Blessed are Those Who Thirst was great.

Did you know that Mitch Albom is a songwriter and musician, in addition to being a best-selling author?  The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto combines Albom's love of music with his great writing,  I loved this tale and I bet you will, too!
What are you reading?

UP